UNC wins fourth straight ITA women’s tennis national title

By R.L. Bynum

Carolina’s women’s sports programs continue to dominate nationally, and the women’s tennis team kept that going Monday in Seattle.

The No. 2 Tar Heels won their fourth consecutive ITA national championship to follow up the field hockey national title last fall and the women’s lacrosse championship last spring.

Carolina earned a 4–0 victory over No. 3 Georgia in the championship match for the Tar Heels’ fifth title in the last six years and seventh in the last 10 years. 

Coach Brian Kalbas’ program has become a perennial national power, as he keeps attracting top talent to Chapel Hill.

After Georgia started the doubles with Meg Kowalski and Mell Reasco defeating UNC’s No. 1 Fiona Crawley and Carson Tanguilig, the Tar Heels won the next two doubles matches to earn the doubles point.


Reilly Tran and Abbey Forbes defeated Anna Hertel and Anastasiia Lopata 6–4, then Reese Brantmeier and Elizabeth Scotty topped Guillermina Grant and Mai Nirundorn 7–6 (8–6) to give UNC a 1–0 lead heading into singles play.

No. 18 Anika Yarlagadda got singles started by taking down Meg Kowalski 6–1, 6–2 to give Carolina a 2–0 lead. On court 3, Tanguilig defeated No. 39 ­Reasco 7-5, 6-0.

The clinching point came on court 4 as No. 12 Forbes defeated Hertel 6–4, 6–1.

No.2 UNC 4, No. 3 Georgia 0

UNC in ITA championships

2010                                                      Finalist
2013                                               Champions
2015                                               Champions
2016                                                      Finalist
2017                                                      Finalist
2018                                               Champions
2019                                                      Finalist
2020                                               Champions
2021                                               Champions
2022                                               Champions
2023                                               Champions
Champions: 2023, 2022, 2021, 2020, 2018, 2015, 2013
Finalist: 2019, 2017, 2016, 2010

Photo via @UNC_wtennis


1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s