University of National Champions by the numbers after Tar Heels’ women’s tennis title

By R.L. Bynum

With Coach Brian Kalbas’ Carolina women’s tennis team winning the NCAA title on Saturday, here is a look at the University of National Champions by the numbers:


NCAA team titles: Women’s soccer (21), field hockey (10), men’s basketball (6), men’s lacrosse (5), women’s lacrosse (3), men’s soccer (2), women’s basketball (1) and women’s tennis (1); in addition, women’s soccer won the 1981 AIAW national championship


Years since a four-year UNC student hasn’t enjoyed seeing the Tar Heels win a national championship at least once during their time in Chapel Hill (the freshman class of 1976–77). Students enrolled as freshmen in fall 1977 enjoyed a men’s lacrosse national championship during their senior year (spring 1981), and those graduates are in their early-to-mid-60s. Every Carolina student since then has seen UNC win at least one NCAA title during their four years.

A look at UNC’s 22 women’s soccer national championship trophies (21 NCAA titles and 1 AIAW title)


Team national championships by UNC women’s teams (only Stanford and UCLA have more)


Undefeated and untied national champions: field hockey (five times, the last this school year in 2022), women’s soccer (four times, the last in 2003), men’s lacrosse (three times, the last in 1991), men’s basketball (1957) and women’s lacrosse (2022)


UNC head coaches who have won national championships; former coaches who won titles: Frank McGuire (men’s basketball), Dean Smith (men’s basketball), Sylvia Hatchell (women’s basketball), Roy Williams (men’s basketball), Willie Scroggs (men’s lacrosse), Elmar Bolowich (men’s soccer), Dave Klarmann (men’s lacrosse) and Karen Shelton (field hockey)


Number of academic years that UNC has won multiple national titles: 1981–82, 1989–90, 1990–91, 1992–93, 1993–94, 1996–97, 1997–98, 2008–09, 2009–10, 2012–13, 2015–16 and 2022–23.


Sports in which UNC has won a team national championship (men’s basketball, women’s basketball, men’s soccer, women’s soccer, men’s lacrosse, women’s lacrosse, field hockey and women’s tennis)


Current UNC head coaches with national championships: Anson Dorrance (women’s soccer), Carlos Somoano (men’s soccer), Jenny Levy (women’s lacrosse), Joe Breschi (men’s lacrosse) and Brian Kalbas (women’s tennis)


Individual national championships won this school year: Wrestler Austin O’Connor won the title at 157 pounds, and diver Aranza Vazquez NCAA titles at one meter and three meters.


Team national titles this academic year (field hockey and women’s tennis)

Photo via @ITA_Tennis


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s